Click here to learn about this year's election

Welcome to Election Connection

Dear Shareholders,

Notice is hereby given that the 50th annual meeting of shareholders of Sealaska will be held on Saturday, June 24, 2023 at 1pm Alaska time. The meeting will be held in Klawock, Alaska at Klawock High School Gymnasium, 715 Bayview Boulevard, and streamed virtually on MySealaska.

Jaeleen J. Kookesh Vice President, Policy and Legal Affairs, Corporate Secretary

The purposes of the meeting is to:

  • Hear a report on Sealaska’s business operations and activities for the year ended December 31, 2022.
  • Elect four (4) directors whose terms will expire at the annual meeting in 2026.
  • Carry out any other business that may properly be brought before the meeting.

Although we do not know of any other business to be considered at the 2023 annual meeting, if any other business is presented at the annual meeting, your signed proxy card gives authority to Sealaska Proxy holders Barbara Cadiente-Nelson, Nicole Hallingstad, Johanna “Jodi” Mitchell and Richard Rinehart to vote on such matters according to their best judgment.

Holders of the voting stock of record at 5 p.m. Alaska time, on the Record Date, April 17, 2023, are entitled to vote at the 2023 annual meeting. On that date, Sealaska had 2,903,286 outstanding shares of stock, and 2,459,750 of those were entitled to vote.

Please submit your proxy as soon as possible to ensure your shares will be voted. There are voting instructions on pages 4-6 of this proxy statement and online at You may call the Inspectors of Election and Voting at 907.789.3178 or toll-free at 1.800.478.3178 if you have any questions or to confirm your proxy has been received.

Each shareholder who returns a valid proxy before the deadline, whether online, in the mail, delivery in person, by fax or by voting in person at the meeting, will receive a one-time payment of $50. If you qualify for the incentive, you can choose to contribute it directly to Sealaska Heritage Institute (SHI) Culture and History Projects. Just mark the appropriate box on your proxy. You may also make this contribution in the memory of someone by writing their name(s) in the blank space.

All proxies must be received by the Independent Inspectors of Election and Voting in Juneau before 5 p.m. Alaska time, Thursday, June 22, 2023. Proxies received after that date and time will not be voted at the annual meeting and will not be eligible for the $50
incentive. Shareholders, please join us in Klawock, at the Klawock High School Gymnasium, or online for the Annual Meeting on Saturday, June 24, 2023. In-person voting will be available at the Annual Meeting. Coronavirus mitigation measures will be in place during the annual meeting for the protection of shareholders.

We greatly appreciate your participation in the Sealaska election and annual meeting. Regards,

Jaeleen J. Kookesh
Vice President, Policy and Legal Affairs, Corporate Secretary