Join New Sealaska Shareholder Participation Committees
Thursday, May 16, 2019

2017-18 Board Youth Advisor Nicole George visits with shareholders in Haines, AK.
“We are excited for shareholders to dive deep into the history, current business and program activity, and the vision for our future."

Sealaska is seeking engaged shareholders to form three shareholder participation committees, providing a new communication channel between Sealaska and its community.

The three committees will represent Southcentral Alaska, Southeast Alaska, and the Lower 48 states and Hawaii. Each committee will have seven seats. Committee members will serve three-year staggered terms. 

“We have an active shareholder base with diverse talent and real care for the ongoing success of Sealaska,” said Joe Nelson, Sealaska board chair. “We are excited for shareholders to dive deep into the history, current business and program activity, and the vision for our future.”

“We are investing even more in ways that positively impact the health of our communities, oceans and environment, and it is imperative shareholders play an active role in the trajectory of Sealaska,” said Anthony Mallott, Sealaska president and CEO. “The new participation committees are an important element of a broad effort to listen to, learn from and engage active shareholders.”

Sealaska is not the first Native Corporation to form shareholder participation committees. Our program will be modeled after a program CIRI has maintained for more than 20 years with great success.

Interested shareholders may apply for one of the committees now on Committee members will meet in-person for a full-day work session each spring and fall. Committee members will be paid $150 for each regularly scheduled meeting and will be reimbursed for transportation and other reasonable expenses associated with attending the meetings.

There are minimum qualifications required to apply for the committees. Find a full outline of requirements and restrictions on

The application period is open now through June 22, 2019. The inaugural members will be announced shortly thereafter.

Latest News

Sealaska Native Rights Advocacy Update

Posted 1/21/2022

Sealaska 2021 Year in Review

Posted 12/28/2021

Former director, longtime Native leader Gil Gunderson passes away

Posted 12/23/2021

2021 Shareholder Virtual Holiday Party Prize Winners

Posted 12/17/2021

Juneau Police Chief Recognized with 2021 AFN Presidents’ Award

Posted 12/13/2021