What Sealaska Was Conveyed Under ANCSA

Sealaska Corporation
Sealaska Corporation is the regional corporation for southeast Alaska. Southeast is the traditional homelands of the Tlingit, Haida and Tsimshian people who have a shared history that dates back 10,000 years.

Land Settlement
Through ANCSA, the federal government transferred 44 million acres of land to Alaska Native regional and village corporations. Of the 44 million acres, Sealaska was conveyed 365,000 acres, which equates to approximately 1.6% of the traditional homelands of the Tlingit, Haida and Tsimshian people of Southeast Alaska. Through ANCSA, Alaska Native shareholders’ land is held by regional corporations.

Monetary Settlement
Through ANCSA the federal government compensated the newly formed Alaska Native corporations with a total of $962.5 million for land lost in the settlement agreement. Of that, Sealaska (southeast) received $xxM (*sealaska number).

Sealaska Shareholders Enrolled Under ANCSA
ANCSA corporations are owned by their Alaska Native shareholders. Depending on where original shareholders lived, they may have also received shares in village or urban corporations.

Sealaska enrolled 15,782 original shareholders. As of October of 2021 Sealaska currently has 22,921 shareholders.

Sealaska and Southeast Alaska Natives were Treated Differently

Why was Southeast treated differently?
There were a few contributing factors including:

  • Tlingit and Haida tribal recognition in 1935 (learn more)
  • The large non-Native population in xxx
  • The existence of large private pulp mill contracts in Southeast
  • Back-room ANCSA negotiations

How was Southeast treated different?

  • Sealaska’s land was not allocated according to percentage of enrollment or aboriginal use, as in other areas.
  • Under ANCSA, Southeast leaders only received a percentage of lands that were available in ANCSA Sec. 14(h)(8).
  • Southeast leaders could only select lands from within small selection areas.
  • Village and urban corporations were limited to 23,040 acres and within boxes.
  • Some communities in Southeast were left out (Landless) with no right to appeal being left out.
  • Until 2014, Sealaska only owned 290,000 acres of its original 365,000 allocated. The final conveyance of 75,000 acres due to Sealaska under ANCSA was finalized in March 2015.